Facts About Ghana


Official name: Republic of Ghana

Population: 24,658,823 million (2010 PHC)

Official language: English and Over 25 ethnic languages

President: H.E. Nana Addo Danqua Akuffo Addo

Government: Constitutional Democracy

Capital city: Accra

Climate: Tropical temperatures range from 21-32⁰C. There are two rainy seasons from March to July and September to October. November to March is the dry and hot season with the dry harmattan winds blowing from the Sahara Desert.


Local Time: Greenwich Meridian Time (GMT)


Working hours: 08:00am to 05:00pm (with an hour break from 12 to 01:00pm)

Banking hours: 08:30am to 3:00pm Saturday banking: 08:30am to 12:00pm


Currency: Ghana Cedi (GH¢). The cedi notes are in denominations of GH¢1, GH¢2, GH¢5, GH¢10, GH¢20, GH¢50. Coins: Ghana Pesewa (Gp) 5Gp, 10Gp, 20Gp, 50Gp, 100Gp. All internal transactions are made in the Ghana Currency (NO trading locally in foreign currencies, Bank of Ghana directive 2014). There is no restriction on the amount of foreign currency you may bring into Ghana. This must however be stated on the currency declaration form. When leaving Ghana, you may not carry more than USD10, 000.


Administration: Ghana is divided into 10 administrative regions. These regions are represented in the table below with their respective mileage from Accra where the only International Airport is located.

Greater Accra Accra 9km
Eastern Koforidua 85km
Volta Ho 165km
Central Cape Coast 144km
Western Takoradi 218km
Ashanti Kumasi 270km
Brong-Ahafo Sunyani 400km
Northern Tamale 658km
Upper East Bolgatanga 810km
Upper West Wa 740km